Hi, I'm new to this forum and I'm just starting out trying to teach myself how to make gamey-music

Right now I'm trying to work on some relatively short loop and this is the first thing that I managed to do using Famitracker

https://soundcloud.com/davide-alexandro … um=twitter (I also have more stuff on my soundcloud made with Bosca Ceoil, but I'm moving away from that)

Apart from the obviously not great volume-mixing,I have the feeling that there should be "more stuff happening" in the track, but I'm not sure of what. Also I'm still not great at making instrument.

Świdnica, Poland

I've listen this song and the one i have to say-stop making "music"...

danthalian wrote:

This doesn't sound very... constructive :\

Oy! You're doing fine! Keep making songs and trying to write what you hear in your head. After a while you'll start to form your ideal music, but it can take a while sometimes!

As for "more stuff happening", stuff as much as you can into what room you have. Also check out the expansion chips if you're feeling a little cramped (N163 is my favorite).

Here's some of my music, mostly written in FamiTracker: https://soundcloud.com/ypmid

IL, US

yeah, that was an excessively harsh response to a track thats not bad...
its a pretty simple song, but that can be good.. i think maybe a few extra variations on each part and a little tweaking of the instruments could make the difference (those square waves are maybe a little cleaner than they should be)

Los Angeles, CA

Some variation in the volume department would help a TON.  The volume column is really easy once you get the hang of what's happening.  There's also a definite lack of bass, which makes the whole thing sound really thin.  But yeah, basically what e.s.c. said, variation is your friend.  Keep it up!  Famitracker is awesome stuff!

Thanks for the answers! smile

Ypmid wrote: