London, UK

Hi guys, just curious to know.. I just started with LSDj a couple of months ago so I am brand new to chiptuning, but I managed to get my hands on a Nanoloop 2.5 cart for my micro, and since I know that there is plenty of versions I want to know which one is a "must have", or if there's a VERY bad one..! Also, if you have some suggestions on nanoloop 1.x, thanks!

Cheers big_smile

Alive and well in fucksville

I think all nanoloops are works of art. some things are different in each release. 1.0 was what captured me. 2.6 is really neat because of the ability to randomize a loop (I really got a feel of the distinct essence of each scale this way).
The need our brains have for archiving plays in to the novelty or gimmick of a melody that is catchy. When there is no true set sequence there is nothing really to expect or even grasp. Not having note names forces you to count intervals or just experiment without the fuss of theory.
Releases which do show the note are good in another way. I entered some of the notes from bela bartok's microkosmos this way. nothing is funner than hungarian waltz through a kaoss pad!

I have only played with 2.6 and 2.7 and I think 2.7 is absolutely fantastic. By introducing the step pause, it can give so much more variety to your loops, e. g. even melody variations like putting a step pause for the 3rd round on step 3, another note on step 2 which is only played in the 3rd round with maximum delay, so that it actually plays on step 3, but only in the 3rd round. Though I am missing the easy switch between voices and parameters without going to the menu, but I guess you can't have it all smile

Ok, I'll break it down for you:
What is unique for each version of Nanoloop?
(just listing the most important stuff)

1.x - 1.2
FM synthesis on wave-channel, very unique sound that you won't be able to replicate even with LSDj.