Hello all. I'm brand new to LSDJ and have questions I can't so easily find answers to web searching. To be honest, I was reluctant to join this forum because I really hate the idea of being a bother to anyone but I am so determined that I gave in and I hope you'll bear with me. I don't even know how to clearly enunciate my question.

I've managed to put together my first workable drum track with snare (wav and noise channels respectively), and the kick drum sequence consists of four phrases. Is it more sensible to put the breaking point in this four piece loop one by one in the song screen, or do I try to lay out as much of that as possible in the chain screen?

If something sounds ridiculous here it may not look it to me, so maybe I'm just asking what is the most correct means of laying out chains? The individual line per chain seems to make the song screen play line by line, and having experience with Nanoloop, that almost looks right to me.

SECOND QUESTION:
Say I have a chain to keep the snare going and I want a break (silence) in the middle of that for just a moment, then back to the snare. Do I have to make a phrase that is silence or is there another way? The song screen is confusing me here because if I just blank out a single line in a chain, it skips the rest. What do I do there?

FINALLY:
Another bit of song screen confusion. Is it sensible that each line in all four of the channels contain the same number of chains? It feels wrong to me that if I don't, the little arrows showing playback begin to scatter. Seems difficult to manage what I'm seeing. Again, this is just perspective from sequencing in Nanoloop, so maybe the arrows bouncing around instead of staying lined up is normal? If the tune sounds correct because the chains themselves are managed correctly, I would be ok regardless or no?