Hello everyone!

I would like to get some advice, as I've seen the masterminds of GB hardware are hanging out around here. I'm not an engineer, but I understand the inteactions of certain systems.

https://hackaday.io/project/4291-homebr … -cartridge

So I found this project and I really like the simpleness of the whole cart. But are there any drawbacks?

Can I run Pokemon romhacks on this cart and save the progress? Could it be compatible with LSDJ?

I have in mind the creation of a bunch of dedicated carts for different stuff, thats why I'm not taking into mind any established flashcards yet.

I'm asking these because I'm confused if this one chip takes care of everything or not.

Thanks for all of your answers :)

Ben

NUMBSKULL

That cart is rom only. That means no saving. It also means you can only use games that are 32kb or less, which is pretty much just maybe tetris.

Yeah I was totally afraid of this, so back to the wire jungle I guess.

IL, US
catskull wrote:

That cart is rom only. That means no saving. It also means you can only use games that are 32kb or less, which is pretty much just maybe tetris.

or mGB/nanovoice/etc... regardless, not big enough for lsdj and without sav capability to really use it anyway

Are there any guides/homemade cart superior to the one presented here?

http://www.reinerziegler.de/

IL, US

from what i know, there really aren't any diy solutions that will run LSDJ and be cheaper than the 64 Mbit EMS usb carts (at least after you factor your labor in)

NUMBSKULL

Honestly with the BennVenn carts out these days it's almost pointless to even attempt a DIY solution, other than for learning but if you do that understand that you'll pour a ton of time and money into it.

Here's a link to one of his carts: http://store.kitsch-bent.com/product/be … -cartridge

He's also said a version that would cost half that may be in the works.