Nottingham, UK

I've been focussing on my other music for a few years, and the gameboy has been more like a single instrument in a mix rather than the whole track.
I decided to put the effort in on a whole track as practice, but I feel like the details are failing me.
How're the instruments sounding?
Anything you'd change?
Do the melodies feel natural enough?
Feedback appreciated by this very infrequent poster.

https://soundcloud.com/forabrokenearth/ … lsdj-cover

Last edited by ForaBrokenEarth (Jan 10, 2016 1:39 pm)

You did an excellent job. I think everything is just right. You just picked a Shitty Chvrches song.

Nottingham, UK

ahaha, I'll take that.

Chicago

That's really good. I like how you took a fairly repetitive song, and gave enough variation to each verse to keep it interesting. Very impressive use of echo and chorus type effects in LSDJ (unless those were added in post). Would love to look at the LDSJ.SAV file if you feel like sharing.

Nottingham, UK

Yeah that's all in LSDJ. I'd show you the file but I have a lot of trouble transfering at the moment, can't afford a drag n derp.  The delays are basically just your standard LSDJ style echos with a bit of detune and an automated pan thing in the table.

Last edited by ForaBrokenEarth (Jan 10, 2016 10:52 pm)

Boise, ID
QuietMind wrote:

That's really good. I like how you took a fairly repetitive song, and gave enough variation to each verse to keep it interesting. Very impressive use of echo and chorus type effects in LSDJ

That's what I'd say too. The only thing I could mention is the pulse channels seemed slightly loud over the wave channel, but that's just preference to me. Great job! smile

England

i don't really know the original, and i don't know how much you intended to make the cover your own (my remixes are pretty much just new songs, lol) , but the original has a much warmer lusher feeling, so that big distorted wav channel bass sounds kinda outta space place.