Italy

I’m a complete electronics noob, but this whole Shruti-Shruthi business makes me want to learn a bit of it, so I’m tinkering with my atari punk console, to see if I can hack it somehow. Now, I have a Novation Bass Station which can output CV and Gate from Midi, I was trying to feed the CV into the APC, but it wouldn’t work… The APC uses a 5556 timer (which is two 555 timer ICs combined into one afaik) pin 3 can accept control voltages and there is a pot (500K) controlling the pitch. If I add the voltage of the CV to the voltage somewhere after the pot, I should be able to modify the pitch with the CV, shouldn’t I? Anyway, the result is that the voltage from the CV (roughly between 2,5 and 3,5V) replaces the voltage in the circuit, and does not add to it… and in fact, I don’t hear anything, since the APC runs on 9V and 3V is really to low for it to produce anything…
Now I have one solution that could work: feed the voltage into a led which drives a photoresistor, which replaces the pot… should work, but have to try it out. But still I want to know what I’m doing wrong! I know it’s probably something stupid… but as I said, I’m a noob… so please tell me where I’m being stupid! smile

Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA

http://www.skrasoft.com/hard/pokey/index.html

Tacoma WA

interesting.

modular synth controlling a 555.  i like it

Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
infradead wrote:

interesting.

modular synth controlling a 555.  i like it

that's what the 555 CV input is for.. FM wink
It works, not the best sounding, but it's a simple circuit.

Next time i'm at my friends place i'll shoot a video of his "the squarewave parade" 555 VCO's that he fracked and then we modified over to Eurorack.
Simple pitch knob, FM input (CV) and FM Amount (simple attenuation of the incoming CV).

you can get some crazy FM sounds modulating one oscillator with the other.. similar to the 556 circuit accept you can use both VCO's independently.