Chicago

I just rounded up all the necessary components for my adruinoboy and I need some help because I'm relatively new to microcontrollers.

I'm using an Adruino pro mini 5V that is hooked up to a 5V ftdi basic then into a usb port into my mac.
For simplicities sake, I'm running Windows XP thru VMFusionware and trying to program the adruinoboy sketch files with adruino software provided by their website.

So I click open>Desktop\Aruinoboy1_2_3\Arduinoboy1_2_3\Arduinoboy1_2_3.ino
Then have tools>board set to pro mini 5v atmega328
also set tools>com1

As far as the tools>programmer> ? I have no idea which setting I need but I tried them all and butt-kiss.

Now when I hit upload it starts then ends with "avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00"

I'm not quite sure where to go from here...
Anybody have any experience programming pro mini's with arduinoboy software that'd be glad to help, please?
--------
Edit: I have programmed .hex files burning them to microcontroller chips like the atmega8 before but I've seem to reach a bump in the road on this one.

Here is photos of how I've soldered the FTDI basic to the backside of the Arduino Pro Mini, I do believe its correct but this is my first Arduino device.

The FTDI Basic

The Arduino Pro Mini

Last edited by GoingHam (Mar 19, 2013 5:30 am)

I just bought an Arduinoboy kit from Nex over at noisechannel.org (haven't built it yet though) and it came with the Arduino Pro Mini preprogrammed but it did not come with that FTDI board so I'm not even sure if that is needed.  Maybe you can message Nex directly at noisechannel.org.  I'm sure he can help you out.

Chicago IL

FTDI is for programming arduino boards that don't have a USB port

Medina, Ohio