California, USA

I'm relatively new to making chiptune but I've been thinking about live setups and such. What effects, if any, do you guys use live and how do you use them?

Last edited by Dark Oyster (May 23, 2013 6:02 am)

vancouver, canada

my current live setup consists of an instance of ableton live which piles on a chain of software DSP effects onto the incoming audio interface input where my game boys / DS / whatever else is hooked up.   the effects are controlled by an AKAI LPD8 (8 pads and 8 knobs);  each pad is used to toggle on/off one of the software effects in my DSP chain.  the knobs are mapped to whatever parameters i fancy at the time.

typically, i only make use of a small handful of effects, in the following order:
- a general EQ
- a filter for boosting low bass frequencies, which i can toggle whenever i feel my song needs an extra momentary oomph
- a high-pass filter set to control cutoff and amount (i've found that low-pass filters seem to just kill the mood of the venue for some reason)
- a flanger/phaser
- a reverb

i'm sure you can go crazy with whatever other effects you manage to find, depending on how you want to present your music.  i personally don't like to mangle or obfuscate the minute details that i shove into my tunes, so, i keep things simple.

if you don't have access to any of the software/equipment above, i've seen many people get quite a lot of use out of a kaoss pad or a KP-mini.  the newest KP-minis (not even the older rectangular ones) would be a good gateway if you just want a simple yet versatile effector.

Brunswick, GA USA

A rig like Dan Deacon's is okay.

Distortions are relatively inexpensive as a start.

Chicago IL

I run my stuff through ableton. beat chopping vsts mostly

Holland

No effects.

Finland

Mostly just some sort of delay hooked to one synth, been using Behringers cheapo digidelay, and Monotron Delay, which is fucking awesome. Otherwise, nope (since I dont use effects on recorded tracks that much).