Chicago, IL

Hi guys, I'm doing some tedious, but promising experiments with samples on the gameboy. I'm working with a non-chip-affiliated audio engineer who has some cool ideas, but I don't have the technical expertise to give him everything he needs for our latest experiment.

Does anyone know the Frequency Response for the Gameboy? Or where I could find that information?

Sweeeeeeden

I'll just leave this here http://www.herbertweixelbaum.com/comparison.htm

buffalo, NY

Or do you mean C2 (65hz) to B12 (high enough to hurt people)

Chicago, IL

I migh as well share my idea with the experts, since I don't see how I'd ever pull it off myself anyways big_smile

Maybe this is stupid and impossible, I'm not technical but maybe it could be awesome. I've fiddled with making custom kits on the gameboy with LSDj. I've experimented with voices, synths and made some bass sounds that came out half-way decent.

I started thinking of two possible ways to improve the quality of the samples you're sending in;

1) applying things to the initial sample using more modern programs, things like dithering that are used to sort of change the sound on a base level. I know the lsdj import tool has dithering but I'm sure there'd be advantages or a way to use a more flexible dithering program to improve the overall sound.

2) Phase inversion/canceling. I have seen experiments where one frequency or tone can be created to cancel out another. I had the thought of using 2 gameboys running LSDJs and using a sample in one to cancel out or null some of the harshness or static tones coming out of the actual wav sample you want to hear on the other unit.

Is this crazy talk? Just trying to think of new ways to push the envelope...

buffalo, NY