Hello all, it's my first time posting here and I have it in mind to get into modding Gameboys. I was wondering if anyone could impart some wisdom on a complete novice! First, I'll let you in on my aims and expectations when it comes to getting into modding:

To start with I'm going to try tackling a couple of simple backlight mods on some bog standard grey DMG's. I plan to use asm's Density backlights and their accompanying tutorial as a starting point (http://asmretro.com/diy-gear?product_id=86). I'll be picking up all the essentials (tri-wing screwdrivers, soldering iron, rubbing alcohol) next week but could do with a recommendation of the best places to pick up working dmg's (UK based).

Also, I really want to add a backlight toggle switch to my first or second attempt, but I'm unsure how well that would work with the specific backlight I've chosen and I could really do with a tutorial if anyone knows a good one. My reason for neglecting the pro sound mod is because despite my interest in getting into using LSDJ, my initial reason for doing all of this is so that I can nostalgia hard whilst being able to flick on a backlight for ease of use. Also, I figured that concentrating my efforts on a specific task is probably a good way to start.

Any advice or guidance or ominous warnings prior to my first foray into modding is greatly appreciated. Apologies if I've misused any terminology here, unfortunately I'm a complete novice when it comes to electronics in general wink

Dentari.

Taichung, Taiwan

Wire the on-off switch between the density backlight negative contact and the ground where you will be soldering it to.

katsumbhong wrote:

Wire the on-off switch between the density backlight negative contact and the ground where you will be soldering it to.