Melbourne, Australia

So, after going out and watching some deep house dj's spin tracks for a couple of hours, I came home inspired to have a crack at making a deep-house style track in LSDJ. big_smile I started messing with the wav channel, but I could never get the sound right, it always seems to be very distorted with frame changes, crude volume envelopes, and not quite as smooth as I would like... :S Any suggestions? Or do I just have to suck it up, buy nanoloop 2.6 and move on...? tongue And yes, I am quite new to this...

Edit: I'm a n00b...

Last edited by Panda Chan (Oct 16, 2013 9:38 am)

Madriz, Supain

im pretty sure you got to draw frames and put the speed high

England

if you want a smooth bass sound turn off the frame changes - put the wav channel on manual (i think it is manual mode? off mode in some older versions?)

from there just experiment with the frame volume and cut off settings for nice smooth deep bass.

if you use high speed frame changes or volume envelopes you will most likely get distorted and clicking and crackling sounds.

you can learn to use these as percussion or to keep them in time with percussion so they are less noticeable but best keep it simple for now if you are a noob smile

Last edited by Jellica (Oct 16, 2013 10:37 am)

Alive and well in fucksville

look for a ltc 1799.  mod your gameboy. get an idea of what an oscillator does to a synth. The half clock mod is good too, but if you use a variable resistor, you will have the means to tweak sounds. there are sweet spots where i have gotten nice bass even with the noise channel. if you want a good bass, set a pulse instrument you like to pan left, set another to play at the same time panned right. put your wav instrument to right and your noise to left. use all four channels, and if needed get another gameboy and another lsdj.
Just experiment.

Montana

Put it on manual. It should smooth it out.

Melbourne, Australia