Hello,

I received a chip maestro a few weeks back and wasn't able to do much with it... I tried to control it via kaoss pad 3 in ext.ctrl mode but it is not very useful and I still need a pc with fruity loop ( or ableton if I ever buy it) to make some sounds...
I'd like ton control my chip maestro like I've seen a guy control is midines via an mpc 1000. As you might guess I'm a total noob in music sequencing, composing etc ( I've been a dj in amateur for quite some time but it doesn't count) and I was wondering : could i buy an mpc 500 ( it's cheaper, just like Chip maestro is in comparison with midines) and connect it to my chip maestro in a way that it can control it (and record some juicy 8 bit sounds from it )to play  live?

I hope you understood my poor english, i'm from brussel and i'm not as good in english as i am in french...

Thanks a lot and please tell me that i didn't buy a crappy nes cartridge that i won't ever use again :'(, it would break my heart...

Ness

Dallas, Texas

It's definitely not useless. but as many will probably tell you, chipmaestro is far from being as good as midines. I've not read much of the chip maestro's release docs so i can't speak for how the cart has changed (if any) over the time since first release, but I don't think it is as robust as the midines in terms of cc control and making use of all the channels like the DPCM.

I can still barely get mine to work at all with Ableton, FL Studio, or anything. Haven't had any luck with MIDI Keyboards yet.

I'm looking into writing a VST and/or a Max4Live patch that basically acts as a glorified MIDI interface for computer users. Progress is slow, but so far I can correctly force pulse width changes.

Overall for the two years we waited, I'm extremely disappointed in overall features and usability.
It's more of a novelty product than anything really useful as far as live chiptune use or otherwise.