Melbourne, Australia

So, I've been inspired by Ultrasyd and Henry Homesweet and just love the sounds they squeeze out of the ST, and I have downloaded STEEM and Maxymiser and had a crack at making chiptunes using the ST so I'm not a total beginner with the software, however...
I'm interested in getting an actual ST and using it, but I have no idea what to do, as I have never owned a computer older than a windows 98... hmm
So, if people could please give me some advice (before I buy one) on:
a) Good places to buy them (I'm guessing ebay? but there might be others)
b) What to look for?
c) Additional hardware/software I may require?
d) General things to know about operating an ST?
e) anything else?

Thanks! big_smile

Holland

Ebay is a good place to find an ST. Look for an STe preferably but an STf works as well.

You can use your own TV with scart if you look for a cable like this: http://www.retrogamingcables.com/atari- … d-rca.html that is a lot cheaper than an actual Atari ST screen.

Musicmon is a good way to start as well if you're not that in to Maxymiser, but Maxy will do just fine!

Melbourne, Australia

Musicmon looks awesome! Why did I not find this before? Maybe use both?! wink Thanks!
I also heard that ST's had MIDI capabilities? If so, then is there any software that I could use to control MIDI synths using the ST? Because that would be awesome. big_smile

Edit: How do you put programs onto it? Copy on to floppy disk and then put the floppy disk in ST or?

Last edited by Panda Chan (Dec 16, 2013 12:06 pm)

Joliette, QC, Canada
Panda Chan wrote:

Musicmon looks awesome! Why did I not find this before? Maybe use both?! wink Thanks!
I also heard that ST's had MIDI capabilities? If so, then is there any software that I could use to control MIDI synths using the ST? Because that would be awesome. big_smile

Edit: How do you put programs onto it? Copy on to floppy disk and then put the floppy disk in ST or?