Virginia, US

Hey Guys,

I'm new to the Chipmusic community but not to the music. I'm sure I'll enjoy my time here.

I am a computer engineer and I have an idea for an "All-In-One" solution to chiptune music production and development and I just wanted to get some input and/or thoughts from the community.

It is to my understanding that chiptune is produced via video game hardware and software (i.e. sequencers, trackers, emulators, etc.) These are all great methods of capturing the classic sounds of the game hardware that we know and love.

I would like to introduce the alternative concept of a singular specialized portable instrument that can produce all of these sounds using a simple user interface like that of a synthesizer.

I thought of this idea because I believe that chiptune has not reached the popularity it believe that it can ultimately achieve. People who are new to the 8-bit / chiptune scene are most likely eager to learn how to produce this kind of music but I feel that they may be intimidated by the quantity and complexity of the equipment necessary to produce over-the-top and awesome chiptune.

I also think that this could be a portable solution to current experience producers who have to move a good deal of equipment around between gigs. Additionally, the device could also help current experienced artists to produce better music as it can be connected with other music effect modules.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

What do you guys think about this project idea?

Los Angeles, CA

LGPT does basically everything at once, if it has to be handheld.

Anybody who ACTUALLY wants to do everything all at once can just use chipsounds, but I know that I personally like chipmusic because of the limitations I'm presented with.

Oh also the nerdsynth is being worked on, so that's an option as well.

Last edited by Mrwimmer (May 15, 2014 5:07 pm)

Florida, USA