So before I start I wanted to say I read all the stickies and I am entirely new to this site and chiptuning. From what I have read all I need is a gameboy, blank cart, and lsdj ROM. I am planning on getting a gameboy and using lsdj with it, however are there any particular mods that would be useful? Is there an easier program for a complete beginner in making 8-bit? And what would I need to be able to run my gameboy into a virtual interface on my laptop, such as Ableton? I am sorry if this has already been covered/asked, I looked all over the forums, but either I missed it or couldn't find it.

Turku, FIN

Check out the LSDj on an emulator before you buy expensive gear.

edt: And nanoloop too!

Last edited by KeFF (Jun 26, 2014 1:36 pm)

lsdj on an emulator is the best way to practice

save money and grab a gameboy and a blank cart, then throw the rom on the cart

make tracks and have fun !

then when it's time to record, grab an audio interface or just plug into the line-in if your comp has one

then when it's time to play live, i recommend getting a second gameboy+cart and a mixer so you can blend between tracks

this is just one method of doing it too - you could also just get nanoloop and call it a day!

Santa Cruz, California

I've been building equipment and practicing with various trackers and software for about a year, and I still think my music sucks... I'm sure that's not particularly helpful, but making sick beats doesn't happen overnight.

Experiment with LSDj and an emulator, and see what you can do.
It's fun and deeply rewarding.

matt's mind

LSDJ and emulator, like mentioned above

don't pull your hair out smile  tracker interface can take some getting used to, and you'll find yourself getting quite angry about your process until you pass that hump and understand the logic behind what it is you are doing (if its even a tracker style app you go with)