Melbourne

Hey guys, I bought a used EMS 64M USB cart (probably a mistake haha), and it doesn't seem to work properly. I can get it to appear as a USB device, and write to it/format/etc using the GB USB software (although, the Card Information section is blank when I copy LSDJ to it, and shows a whole bank of the same rom image on both pages when I copy anything else to it, which might be a warning sign?).. but when I try it on my DMG it doesn't even show the Nintendo logo, just some horizontal lines with no movement or sound. On CGB the screen is totally blank, also no sound. I've tried formatting the card, cleaning the connector with isopropyl alcohol, and trying to seat it slightly differently in my DMG and no luck. It also doesn't work in the BennVenn Joey-Squinson card reader (doesn't even come up as a drive).

Is there anything else I can try? Would removing and re-seating the battery do anything? Could it even be a flat battery issue? I'm fairly new to this gameboy stuff so I'm not sure what I can try.

edit: I also have a mac so I can give the osx software a try if that might help..

Last edited by pselodux (May 20, 2015 9:57 am)

Try it on your mac, run the Terminal commands and see if you can write anything to it or back up a save. If you can back up a sav ot your pc/mac run it in an emulator and see if that's working or if it is also broken. That might at least give you an idea as to whether its a software or hardware problem.

If nothing else works I'd try putting in a new battery.
Just my thoughts I'm not super techy but that's what I would try.

Abandoned on Fire

If you have an android device and an otg usb cable you can try with this excellent app:  https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta … &hl=en

I've been helping test it out and I'm very excited about it.  smile

Melbourne