oklahoma

I've been a musician of some type for awhile. I like the expressive and discovery aspects of it. I have been playing chip type stuff for a little bit. I just want to thank everyone for cutting down the jungle and laying down this road and the continued work done on it so it doesn't crumble away and fade back to jungle. We're all very lucky to stumble into this and find it fully formed and available for the taking. So thanks for being there and for adding your energy/time/life for this to be something we can all share in...or not.
And I just read the link in the last post on that Sneven tracker thread. Pretty inspiring shit. I've been interested in learning the programming side of this, so I guess I should get serious with C++.

Boise, ID
oscillating wrote:

I've been a musician of some type for awhile. I like the expressive and discovery aspects of it. I have been playing chip type stuff for a little bit. I just want to thank everyone for cutting down the jungle and laying down this road and the continued work done on it so it doesn't crumble away and fade back to jungle. We're all very lucky to stumble into this and find it fully formed and available for the taking. So thanks for being there and for adding your energy/time/life for this to be something we can all share in...or not.

Yes! big_smile

That's been great.

London, UK

This is nice to read.

From a newbie's perspective (i.e. mine) it seems though that chiptune's heydey was about 2010-13. From then it's just died out. The number of broken links that are 'go-to sources' is insane and most forum posts seem from that time (across all boards). So some 're-cultivation' might be needed in order for the jungle to not creep back in (nice and poignant analogy OP).

Is it just me or is that a fair account? interested to hear other's viewpoints.

Melbourne, Australia

Well, I think there's a lot of really good music still being made

oklahoma