Brooklyn, NY

http://www.batslyadams.com
https://code.google.com/p/nesserial/

I've been working at a serial connection to the NES for a few months now. At first I came up with a board to try and establish a serial line to the NES through the controller port  - I only made 2. They worked - but I figured that it was possible to do it without the board if I did some tricky stuff with the ATMega interrupts on the Arduino. After a few days of debugging (and cycle counting) it’s working flawlessly. The advantage of this over a software serial based approach is that the Arduino acts as a buffer that’ll hold incoming messages (up to 128 bytes) until the NES is ready to get the next one. This means that the NES is free to do other things and doesn’t need to spend time polling the controller port! The latency is extremely low - about as fast as the NES could handle - faster than the MIDI standard. The serial code is compact and easily relocatable - it works great as a replacement to any controller code. Working on a new name for this since it really just acts like a bridge between your PC and the NES. Both the ROMs and the Arduino stuff will be open source so if you have the hardware you're ready to go!

PC->NES Transfer Tool features:

PRG Upload (2K max ($6000-$7FFF) - great for quickly debugging small programs)
CHR-RAM Uploader - CHR banks / nametable data
Full PPU control (palette / scroll registers / mirroring etc..)
Full sound register control

Demo video of PRG/PPU uploading. First the transfer tool is loaded from the powerpak - then glitchNES is uploaded over serial- then from there a couple of new CHR banks are loaded while glitchNES is running.

Example software: (I'll upload videos as I record them)
PRG Upload for fast development cycle on real hardware
Bridge PC data through serial - (ex. network data sent over serial to Twitter client)
MIDI CC control of glitchNES
Hardware NSF player
Analog sensor input for alternate controls