Madison, Alabama

(Blah blah, loudness war, etc....)

I read the other topics and didn't see this come up. 

I'm a very sporadic chiptune musician, but I've been working on it more lately.  I recorded a demo of a song from my DMG, added some EQ, compression, etc, and boosted the volume till it was in the red on the meters in my DAW, which is an older version of Cakewalk Sonar whatever.  Compared to chiptunes I've downloaded (for instance, that recent track from Trey Frey that was tops at 8bc last week), my track is several db quieter.

What do you guys use to get the volume up to a more "commercial" level, out of curiosity?

Rhode Island

1. Record volume up
2. Add a little volume in EQ
3. Add a little volume in compressor
4. Crank it with a brick wall limiter

Play a song in the background while setting your volume. If you can't hear your song it's not loud enough

Brazil

I'm tempted to say magic.

Los Angeles

Dont "redline" anything... If its not already normalized, normalize it. if it is already normalized and there are some snips preventing the entire waveform from being any louder after its normalized, use a limiter to get rid of the snips so that the rest of the waveform can be normalized.

Like cake, only fancier.

PARIS

MMhhh the best way to make your whole track sound "louder" is not to try to punch everything at high levels.. on the contrary you should: Lower the volume of each track and boost the master to keep some dynamics. Some tracks do need a bit of compression (Kicks, Basses) and the most important, is to do a fine tunes Equalization on each track to avoid Frequencies overlapping and doing a muddy mix result. SO check all your tracks with a frequency analyzer, and remove/sculpt your tracks so that they fit together nicely.

In the end, if it still sounds a bit weak, you can go thru a limiter, but you'll loose dynamics (you'll get tracks with a square shaped waveform)