Dorset, UK

Hi, I'm new here (sorry if this is the wrong section to post this in, move it if it is). I thought I'd begin by introducing myself: I'm wills316 (or Will in real life) and I got into chipmusic maybe September 2010 when I heard the Chipmusic artists Mark DeNardo, Covox and ComputeHer on the internet.

I'd like to ask if anyone has suggestions for starting to make my own chipmusic. What would be the best type of Gameboy to get for a beginner? I already have two Gameboy Advances (not the SP versions) but I want something different like a Gameboy Colour or an original 1989 one. What one might be better for a total beginner? I can afford to spend maybe £60 on new stuff (or about 100 dollars for you USA dwellers out there). Also which program should I buy? I've been looking into getting the ROM for LSDJ flashed onto a GB cartridge but I don't know much about how to do this. Basically all I'm asking for is a little help with getting started. I appreciate it smile

(nitro2k01: Thread title edited per the new rule.)

Last edited by nitro2k01 (Apr 11, 2011 11:50 am)

Welcome to CM!

To answer your questions:

1. I'd go with an original gameboy, the '89 one. Colors have really bad sound in my opinion, and the Gameboy Advances are just...ehh, the original one sounds best. By the way, we usually call the original gameboys DMGs.

2. LSDJ is probably your best bet. I got it about a week ago and I'm already used to the way it feels. As far as getting it flashed on a cartridge, you can do that here. If you send him proof that you bought LSDJ he'll flash it to you. It costs like, probably around $45 USD in total, including LSDJ, I'd estimate.