Newcastle, UK

Finally! pro.tect is a lovingly prepared collection of Syphus’ work from 2007 to 2011 – almost entirely unheard, outside of his live shows. Though the tracks have been mastered for more ear-friendly and mp3-friendly listening, they were all made using AHX (Amiga), HivelyTracker (Amiga), Protracker (Amiga) and FastTracker2/MilkyTracker (PC).

(Dull bit coming up - no need to read this)
This album’s a fairly long time in coming. Since Greatest Bits, which saw a very limited physical CD release (until the box of CDs was stolen from the merch table on the second Chiptune Alliance tour – which made it even more limited!), I’ve somewhat wound down the number of live Syphus gigs I do. That’s for all sorts of reasons, not least of which is that I’m a gigging musician by profession and I find it harder and harder to get the time for Syphus gigs the way I used to. Also, I feel strongly that Syphus as a live act existed in a certain heady moment of UK live chipmusic frenzy and while whipping out the electric violin/electric guitar/keytar was a lot of fun and very popular with audiences, it also runs quite contrary to the mood I wanted for this album.

I got my first Amiga at the age of 9 and chipmusic has always been about finding a wider creative connectedness through a solitary and hermetic mode of practice; namely, spending rainy Sunday afternoons lost in the worlds and galaxies thrown open to me by my Amiga, its games, the demoscene and Protracker.

I have no doubt I’ll continue to give live Syphus performances in the future, and while I could easily have laced this album with extraneous instrumentation, I know deep down that those performative gimmicks don’t have a place in a work which needed to be all about musing on those lost moments of youthful optimism and imaginative hope, forged under the burning CRT glow of my heroes’ cracktro pixels.