San Francisco :P

Hey y'all, I have synesthesia (4 kinds to be exact, yes, I realize that is a lot). But the particular type I enjoy having most (the coolest one) is my sound-color synesthesia (I see sound as color, in addition to hearing it).

As a composer, I find music that can create the most interesting colors is music that I pay attention to the longest (I am somehow listening to a piece in C-minor by gabriel faure, and it is white)

So, my synesthesia color-note coordination is like this (though it's not very strong, this is BASICALLY it)

the accidentals are completely random, and don't really have a set color, it depends on which notes come beforehand and such)

C - Blueish light green

D# - so far, no specific color has settled in

D - Orange

D# - usually black (though not always, black reoocurs the most)

E - White

F# - Yellow (but with the same deal as D#)

F - Red

G - Blue

G# - Green (this one is specific

A - Red

A# - Pink for the most part

B - Green

FYI, for sound-color synesthesia, there are two kinds, projected and color-association (I have projected)

...One thing I'm a litle bit confused about. You say you see sound as color, but that doesn't actually explain what exactly is the process here. How do you see it as color? What do you see differently from the usual when you're listening to music?

I've read about symbol-color synesthesia and that's pretty damn easy to understand (not to mention that there are colorful letter example images almost everywhere). But in this case, I can't actually imagine it.

Sweeeeeeden

Does the timbre of the sound affect how it looks?

Dude no freaking way! I have that too, but we're totally different as far as seeing it goes. It's extremely hard to describe, but i kind of see notes and sounds as different lines and the timbre affects the shapes of them as well as the colour.