Italy

H there! The more I dwell on this forum, the more I feel like increasing the chipsound part of my equipment. I currently only have a C64 with Mssiah, a Gakken SX-150 and am awaiting the arrival of a Casio VL-1 keyboard. (of course I have some other stuff in my studio, but that's too Hi-fi and doesn't really count)

So now the question: do you have any tips on what I could check out to expand my current set up? I'm in an experimenting mood, and I don't fear the little DIY here and there, though I'm not an expert in electronics (still working on that).

You could build a midibox SID or something. That's pretty DIY and badass.

Italy

yeah! Well actually I have already pre-ordered a sammich kit. Midibox had me a bit scared... you the sourcing for all the parts thing. Of course the MidiboxSID with all the knobs is still tempting...

I'm actually also quite intrigued by the Shruti-1 btw... but they still haven't revealed a realease date.

but what about some vintage stuff... like Sinclair Spectrum or something like that, can that be used for making music? I really can't find real info on the web about it.

London

try an Atari ST, its dead easy to load software on it - no need to build anything

England

I think that a more important question is do you know how to use what equipment you have already?

i wouldnt think of expanding what you have until you know how to use that C64 properly, its pretty damn versatile.

Last edited by Jellica (Feb 9, 2010 4:31 pm)

Unsubscribe

Or lsiten to your music, and find the thing that makes the sound you miss most! Lots of people do great music with far less equipment.

Milan, Italy

Hey Amico!

Where are you from!? big_smile

I could be predictable.. but a gameboy + lsdj is really powerfull, easy and cheap! smile

Brunswick, GA USA

Perhaps a question to ask is, why do you want to expand your setup?  Maybe some Boss pedals will do.

Italy