Boston, MA

Hey guys, sorry if this is a little noobish. I'm pretty new to mixing/mastering LSDJ tracks, so I was wondering what you guys' approaches were. Do you do a lot of post-LSDJ work in FL Studio/Logic/Reason etc, or do you try to keep it all contained to LSDJ? What are some of your typical steps when getting the mix to sound just right?

Last edited by Soleviio (Jul 8, 2012 5:24 pm)

washington

I think I have a very noobish approach. I import it into audacity, boost the bass a little, add a tiny bit of reverb, and that's it. I'm happy with the way it sounds most of the time, I don't really need to drop $500 on ableton or something.

The Multiverse ::: [CA, Sac]

For my album I did a little eq-ing. Barely any, just a little high and low end in flstudio. I also put a tiny bit of reverb that's not too noticeable unless a track stopped. But the main thing I did was take one gameboy and slightly pan it to the left less than a second, and the same thing with the other gameboy but to the right. Then had the original tracks play at the correct timing. It opened the soundscape some.
But besides that it's all lsdj contained.

Other tracks (the only one available to public is Impact from the pxl-bot comp) have no reverb and different panning percentages.

Last edited by Auxcide (Jul 8, 2012 5:58 am)

washington

That panning idea is really cool. I might steal that idea if I ever run 2 gameboys together, right now I'm just using an emulator on my computer. On a side note, I really dig your new album, auxcide.

But yeah. It's pretty much contained for me. It'll probably stay that way unless I sync it with another music software, which is unlikely.

Boston, MA

Is the variability of LSDJ's tempo too great to possibly record each track by itself in Live mode mix them in another DAW? Or would that be cheating? tongue

Last edited by Soleviio (Jul 8, 2012 6:11 am)