Brunswick, GA USA

First thing's first:

I am not a lawyer. If you do not understand what is discussed in this topic and a contract is presented to you, seek proper legal advice, preferably from an attorney familiar with entertainment law. This information is not legal advice, and no-one who posts in this topic can be held liable for actions taken because of information posted here.

My background regarding this topic:

A majority of what I write here is based on what I was taught in two college classes, one specifically about music business law, the other about performance taught by someone who has a lot of experience selling records and touring, combined with my own and some friends' attempts to get work making rock and pop music.

Inspired by:

The clamor that tends to come every time someone starts a thread that says "I want to use somebody's music for xxxxxx."

Please don't discuss:

Copyright reform, publishing, or recording deals. There are  more suitable threads and forums for that.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think that a majority of the "I want to get music for xxxxxxx" threads have begun as a result of the threads started by thefly who is (was?) an agent looking for background music for GameStop commercials that exploited the feel of platform games. Most of the threads that have tried to follow thefly's model have not been high quality, so I thought it may be more constructive to explain a set of expectations that should be present as a client asking for work from an artist, or what artists should expect when clients solicit them, to make sure people don't get themselves into undue trouble or succumb to inappropriately raised expectations.