Orlando, Florida

So I've gotten halfway through making my first full-length track composed in LSDJ, and I've been a little frustrated with the lack of channels on my project.  Right now I have PU1 as a "kick" drum, PU2 as the main melody, WAV as the lower accompanying notes, and NOISE as a hi-hat, cymbal, etc. 
I've been experimenting a lot with the Synth and wave screens, and I've gotten some cool sounds out of them, but mostly out of random luck, I still don't fully grasp them yet and I would like to learn, but most of the stuff I find on the internet is just for complete beginners, no intermediate or advanced tutorials.

Basically, if you guys know of any useful tips and tricks to maximize the number of sounds coming out of the gameboy, and make some sweet sounding tracks, it would really help me alot.  Also, any websites or videos that might contain intermediate/advanced tutorials that you've found helpful would be great!

Oh and for the record, yes, I know what tables are and I have been using them, I am familiar with chords and arpeggios and how to make them, and I've read the manual multiple times.

NC in the US of America

Mr. Rightburb, the best I can say is to just keep experimenting. And search around the forums. And keep reading the manual.

As far as personal tips I can give:

High frequency V effects can give you a more complex raspy sound. See "Moe Moe Kyunstep" for an NES example.

Make a custom sample kit with complex chordy sounds.

Youtube is a good website for intermediate tutorials.

Use O command to create stereo space.

Mix up your instruments in your patterns. Don't just use one instrument per pattern. You can have kicks, snares, toms, lead, bass and chords all in one channel and in one pattern if you mix it up and alternate. wink

Read the manual a few more times.

Noisechannel has some nice tutorials.

Youtube.

Chipmusic.org Nintendo Handhelds sub-forum. Search.

Last edited by SketchMan3 (Nov 2, 2012 8:19 am)

Chicago IL