DC

someone said we ran out of actual discussion ideas and just started messing around on the forums. I actually have a legitimate question I want to ask, since I don't know jack shit about technical things.

So let's say I listen to a chiptune and find it really awesome. As a beginner, I'll want to know how it's made, and take an actual look at the screens. Are there songs out there that I can download and then import into my EMS cart so I can see how they're made?

I don't want to steal songs or anything. I just want to dissect them and see how they're composed as a learning method.

buffalo, NY

several artists like myself include the save files with their albums.  However speaking from my own experience, it's good to poke around and figure out a few things so you actually know what you're looking at.

vancouver, canada

BAM http://lsdsng.com.   download away.

the cool thing is that as you gain more experience with LSDJ, you'll gradually wean yourself off of looking at SAV's anyway since you develop a more intimate understanding of the hardware/software limitations.  i mean, you only have so many simultaneous channels and sound types, right?  oftentimes when i hear a song it's fun to try and reverse-engineer it in my head.

DC

Thanks, Dan. I've already read up a bunch and seen a few hours worth of tutorials that you guys recommended for total novices like me, so I can at least know the very basics of the composition.

Fargo

Several people have great tutorials where they dissect a song of theirs and show you how to do certain effects.  Mr. Danimal Cannon is one of them.  Here is a great tutorial from him on Youtube.

Like he said, many artists include save files with their albums like himself, or Electric Children to name a couple.  Once you've messed around a bunch with the commands and different channels, you'll start to be able to pick out what somebody probably did just by listening.

DC

bryface you made my day.

The Multiverse ::: [CA, Sac]