Swansea, UK

I'm a bit of a lurker on these forums - used to be a lot more involved in the "chip community" but then 8bc got weird and I found that music is music is music is music. So these days I still read a lot of what happens here, but don't really write often.

Anyway, here's an email I wrote to Bandcamp, and I wanted to share my thoughts with you guys as well. Opinions and random abuse welcome.
_________________________________________________________________________________

Hey, guys,

First of all, thanks for a great site. I've been using bandcamp now for around 3 years and have done a few releases using your service for download. I'm part of a relatively unsuccessful but generally happy with life electronic act in South Wales (the old one, not the fancy-pants Australian one). We're called Kinetic Monkey.

Anyway, the first reason for my email was just to say thank you. Thank you for providing a website that does what I need when I need it, and nothing more (unlike myspazz). Thank you for creating a space that I can quickly and easily make beautiful (unlike soundcloud). Thanks for taking fees only when I sell stuff and doing it in a way I can understand and that makes sense to me (unlike iTunes). And most of all thanks for doing all of this without filling my page with adverts. You guys can't be breaking even yet - so my full respect to YOUR respect for undiluted artist's space.

Secondly, and this is why I'm at my laptop tonight, I wanted to tell you about a new development (for me anyway) in giving my music away. It might be really useful to other artists, but I know around two dozen artists, and you know a lot more, so I'm leaving the knowledge in your hands. The skinny is that is that I've started GIVING AWAY PHYSICAL CDs. And it's working.