Buffalo

I have been lately thinking about upgrading to a modded DMG with just a simple backlight and prosound mod. I have never tried any hardware modding before, so I have a particular question:

Do you think it is a better idea to mod a DMG yourself, or pay for an already modded one?

I know it probably wouldn't be too hard to figure out how to do the mod's I listed (and the tutorials i have read through seem pretty easy), but I am just worried that I would do a messy job. Has anyone had any bad experiences with either personally modded gameboys, or purchased modded gameboys?

I just fear that the mods may break on me at a bad time. I have heard stories of people's personally modded DMG's failing mid-performance.

Last edited by SBthree (Feb 14, 2013 5:03 am)

SBthree wrote:

I just fear that the mods may break on me at a bad time. I have heard stories of people's personally modded DMG's failing mid-performance.

If you will be performing with it, you should have a full functioning spare fired up ready to go (including cart with duplicated .sav), so either way if you modded it or someone else did the show goes on!

Chicago IL

You should edit the first post and throw a question mark in the topic, I thought you were mad at someone for reasons I couldn't piece together.

UK

Game Boys are pretty hardy bastards, I've yet to break something that a resolder or sticky tape couldn't fix.

You'll feel like a pro engineer. Promise.

PROTODOME wrote:

Game Boys are pretty hardy bastards, I've yet to break something that a resolder or sticky tape couldn't fix.

You'll feel like a pro engineer. Promise.