South Korea

I am starting to collect gear, and own a GBA SP so far and I'm not sure if money spent on a DMG would be worth the investment.
I'm fairly new to making sounds come out of little machines (by NO MEANS is what I do "composition"), and I'm a bit of an idiot, but I have a legit question.
Do most GameBoy composers prefer the DMG over the Advance SP (or anything other than the original GBA) because it is actually better, or is it because you can customize them and say shit like, "pro-sound, variable-color backlit, clockspeed mumble mumble, custom case...." and be all 'leet and stuff?
A SP in good shape can be had for fairly cheap and does not need to be modified more than sticking a LSDJ cart in, connecting the headphone jack (the ONLY con I can possibly think of) and MAYBE writing your name in Sharpie on the case.
As far as I know Wizwars uses bloody GBCs (a unloved chiptune console, as far I can tell), and his are hands down some of the greatest tracks I've heard in recent years, and sounds more 'raw' and 'original' and whatever than a lot of the stuff done on $ 1 000 modded DMGs.
So, what is the big deal with DMGs, is it an ego thing, or are there REAL benefits to spending loads of money on mashed-up children's toys?

BK

We like the sound of it too, honestly there's been comparisons done and the DMG comes out on top. Not to mention the price is generally lower than other ones, it has a bit of a heft to it and feels like an instrument in your hands. It does have a slower processor than newer versions but a little trickery in your programming can get around its limitations.

To be honest, lots of guys don't mod their DMGs at all. I personally have the prosound and backlight on a few of mine, but I did them by hand and they're not necessary. I have a few standard DMGs for writing on buses, etc too.

So I guess tl;dr -  theres some benefits, but its not as if you NEED one. Your SP will do the trick.

South Korea