Hello all, I'm new to the chip music scene. The FAQ and sticky threads have been helpful resources so far, but I'm trying to find some music of a more specific type and was hoping I could get some input from people familiar with the scene. Do you have any recommendations for lighter, cheerful chiptunes? Nothing too heavy or mentally taxing. The sort that would make nice, relaxing background music for cooking or a bike ride on a windy spring day. Any artists, albums, or song recs would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for your time and help!

Nashville, Tennessee

this is one of my favorites: http://ubiktune.com/releases/ubi023-var … quilibrium

Orange County,CA /Las Vegas NV

http://thecuddletelevisionexperimentalp … dcamp.com/ I have like yoga kinda chip house going on, might bore ya but give a listen and free download. wink

NC in the US of America

Happy and relaxing? Hmmm... I was going to suggest Chibitech's "Moe Moe Kyunstep Part I", but that's peppy happy. Really peppy.

Do you have any examples of the style you're talking about?

Here's a list of artists that I cook and ride to (mileage may vary as to how happy, unheavy, and not mentally taxing they are):

Fearofdark
PROTODOME
Feryl (Makes me think of sports for some reason. Really good for a ride, imo)
Twistboy
Nullsleep - "Salvation For a Broken Heart"
Radix - "Rainy Summer Days" and "Yoghurt Factory"
SpellingPhailer - "Bit By Bit"
Syphus - "Afterstorm"
Troupe Gammage - "Carrie"
Wizwars - Gameboy Rock
Xyce - 4chpcm love and "je suis baguette"

Wow, I didn't realize how few songs I have in my chiptune library that I'd call happy, light, and mentally relieved.

Edit: I have a song on here called "Brittle" that could fit that description. It's a bit upbeat, though.

Last edited by SketchMan3 (Apr 23, 2013 3:05 am)

Tokyo, Japan

Basically ANYTHING by Xyce, they are fabulous.

SLC, UT

Bit shifter?

.FILTHadelphia

99% of chip artists?

vancouver, canada