So this is my first time making an arduinoboy however I am not inexperienced with electronics and I've done some simple DMG mods and stuff but I might be in a bit over my head here. I've followed all the schematics and everything, I have all the parts right but the arduinoboy doesn't work.

Well it works as in it turns on and the LED's light up like the should in the beginning (though the status LED flashes for a lot longer than I've seen on other arduinoboys) and when I press the button it cycles through the modes just fine.

HOWEVER when I try to plug in anything such as my Gameboy or Korg Electribe MX none of the LED's light up, I've tried all modes and LSDJ on all sync modes as well and nothing. I've switched around the diode, switched out opto-isolators, and the pins on the female 5 pin connector and still nothing. I'm really not sure what's wrong.

20131116_161340 by OceanofChaos, on Flickr

20131116_161348 by OceanofChaos, on Flickr

20131116_161401 by OceanofChaos, on Flickr

20131116_161413 by OceanofChaos, on Flickr

Michigan

How is it powered when you plug in your gb or korg? I don't see a link cable at all.

Last edited by Jazzmarazz (Nov 16, 2013 11:14 pm)

it's powered through the mini-usb, I'm not powering it through the Gameboy

Michigan

The lights light up when here is activity, are you sending midi data?

yes, that's the issue, I'm sending midi data, either through the gameboy or my Korg electribe MX and the LED's don't light up

Bucks County, PA

Did you upload the sketch with the Arduino already breadboarded?  I know people have had issues in the past connecting all the components first..  This sounds like a software thing, either that or the link cable may be wired wrong..?  Everything looks good in the picture, could you get a close up of the link cable?