brighton

i'd like to point out im a second year student studying music production, so in reality i should be able to solve this on my own...but i just cant!

right. i recently bought a usb interface, roland quad capture, so i can finally record my DMG in good quality. however when i set it all up, for some reason 1) all sounds without panning come out super quiet and all panned come out super loud
                           2) there actually is no panning heard from each monitor....

i know that each jack input on the interface is in mono and the gameboy is in stereo, so i decided to buy a 1/8" splitter that connects to each input, of course with 1/4" adapters. but again, no luck. im recording into logic pro and i have checked and messed around with each channel in mono and stereo...and no avail. i do get sound but even if the pan option in lsdj is set to either sides it only comes out of one monitor (always the right one?)

im almost at my wits end and am slightly regretting my purchased interface...whats more annoying is that i have a massive project to complete by may, which i havent started yet, because i cant get the recording right!

well, i should probably stop this rant. but please if anyone could help i would be forever grateful.

many thanks

STARDRAIN, CA

well, this sounds insane. I've never experienced anything like this..sucks bro.

Matthew Joseph Payne

What you're hearing is phase cancellation - somewhere along the line (probably with your adapter), the two channels are being merged, one is canceling the other out - until something is panned, then there is no inverse signal to cancel, so it's extremely loud.

It's hard to say exactly what's going on without seeing your adapter chain.. but if you plug a stereo jack into a mono input it will often have this effect.

What you really want is something like this:
http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet- … mp;sr=8-10