Italy

Hi!
I need to get me a decent soldering iron, but I'm really no expert in this field. What do I need to consider when buying one? How many Watts do I need? What is too much and what isn't enough? Does a station with adjustable temperature make sense? Or is it overkill?
I need this to do some circuit bending, and to solder kits I will buy soon like Shruti-1 and SammichSID
thanks a lot!

York, Yorkshire

If you can afford it, go for a Weller WTCP51.  Easily the best solder station for a reasonable amount of money.  The iron is preset temperature, not adjustable, but is thermostatically controlled at the correct temperature for PCB soldering.  I used one for repairing laptop motherboards and it's perfect.

If you can't afford one, the only alternative worth considering is an Aoyue (or CSI, which is the same thing with a different badge on). But after a Weller, nothing else compares.

Minneapolis

Um, an adjustable Hakko can be found used for very nice prices too. And with soldering irons, if you're looking at getting a nicer model, don't be afraid to get a used one. They don't typically just die, and if all you have to do is get a new tip then it's worth your while.

Carbondale, IL

First off, if you are buying this iron to do electronics work, do not buy a gun-type iron.  They are primarily used for larger, heavier connections that soak up a lot of heat.  One of those bad boys would peel the traces off a PCB before you could say "what's that smell".

Your best bet is a soldering pencil in the 25 to 40 Watt range.  If at all possible, avoid off-brand or Radio-Shack brand irons.  They are typically referred to as "wood burners" by serious electronics guys.  Their temperatures fluctuate wildly during use and they are cheaply made and thus will not last long.  Temperature control is almost a necessity, but BitPop's temperature-fixed iron will definitely be better than no temperature control at all.